Skip navigation

    

      The other day I rode along with my best friend out to The Standing Rock Indian Reservation at Ft. Yates, North Dakota.  We went out there to meet a pathologist from the FBI, and some other FBI agents who are investigating the murder of my best friends brother.  He was murdered in 1997 at 15 years of age by some other kids of the same age.  There were 3 of them.  Torrey explained to me that she knows exactly who did this to her brother.  She told me that now they are in their 20′s and are having a really hard time living with what they have done.  She said she told them at the time when this happened that as they got older they would have a harder time dealing with it.  In response they looked at her and just said, “Fuck you bitch! Prove it!”  Now she is only a few short steps away from having the physical evidence to do that very thing. 

     Before we started this meeting the gentleman who was conducting the meeting turned to me and asked me, ” Not to be rude or anything, but who exactly are you and how do you fit into all of this?”  My best friend Torrey sort of broke in and explained that I am her best friend and like a sister to her.  Then this man explained that in Native American Culture when 2 or more people gather together for any reason at all, it doesn’t matter what different races there are, they become bonded together like family forever.  This man looked at me and said, “Your mother passed away recently didn’t she?”  I was floored by his question.  I said, “Yes sir, she did, how did you know?”  He told me that he could feel her and see her energy around me.  He also told me that she is upset and worried for me right now.  He then went into a prayer in Native American language which was the most beautiful thing I think I’ve ever heard.  After the prayer, he explained that he is a Shaman of the Lakota Sioux Tribe at the  Standing Rock Reservation.  Being in the same room with him you could feel his energy and the power he holds.  Torrey has this same power, as do all of her siblings.  As it has been explained to me, she is of a royal bloodline in the Lakota Sioux Tribe. 

     Torrey also explained to me that she has dreams about people.  Sometimes she knows who they are other times not.  These dreams are usually things that haven’t happened yet.  For instance, when my mother was becoming sicker and sicker last summer, she knew that my Mom would be dying, she just didn’t know when for sure.  When I told her that I was flying out there to be with her, she just said, ” You realize this will be the last opportunity you will have to spend with her don’t you?”  I said yes, but how did you know that?    All she said in response was, ” I just know.” 

     Her entire family that I met adopted me as “Their White Girl” which I thought was hilarious!  They told me that although I am adopted and am not sure of my heritage that I should seek out where I come from because they all had a strong feeling that I am Native American.  They told me that anytime at all I am welcome to come to the Reservation to visit.  An invitation that is rarely given out to white people who they aren’t familiar with.  In closing I must say that this was the most powerful, eye-opening experience I have ever had.  I’m not sure if I can describe with words the feeling I had inside.  I felt totally comfortable from the moment I arrived, and Torrey’s family made sure of that.  They are unbelieveably wonderful people and I will always hold them close to my heart as I do family.  Just being there I could feel I was someplace extremely powerful, and with people who are extremely powerful.  If you ever look this place up on the map, it is right on the Missouri River in North Dakota which is an extremely spiritual place for Native Americans.  It is straight south of Bismarck, ND, and again the town is called Ft. Yates.  The landscape is extremely desolate and hostile looking.  There are many rattlesnakes in the area.  Torrey exlained that when the Reservations were laid out long, long ago, they were given the areas of land in which noone else wanted to be.  No man’s land in other words. 

4 Comments

    • DogOnCrack
    • Posted April 24, 2008 at 1:20 PM
    • Permalink

    I learned a great deal about Native American culture during my years as a Boy Scout. The practicality and efficiency of their traditions is highly admirable. I was very surprised to find how applicable their methods are even in modern times.

    • Parson Brown
    • Posted April 24, 2008 at 10:12 PM
    • Permalink

    Your story reminds me of my favorite movie ‘Billy Jack’ about a Vietnam war hero living among the Indians, learning their mystic ways and protecting the land from intruders. Could you be his female counterpart?

    • MetalGirl1
    • Posted April 25, 2008 at 6:10 PM
    • Permalink

    Parson: Hey I’ve seen that movie, and it was rule factor! I must say also that I’ve never met people who were more in tune with the Earth and people in general than Native Americans. Since hanging out with my friend Torrey, I’ve learned so much about people. The biggest thing I think everyone can learn is just to accept people for who they are and not what you want them to be. I can only wish that our meeting with the FBI and the Tribal Council could’ve been recorded, because it was the most eye-opening experience of my life, and I would’ve loved to have shared it with all of the readers here and on Kev G’s site as well.

    • swenson
    • Posted May 7, 2008 at 2:44 PM
    • Permalink

    Fantastic reading, the American Indians are proud of their heritage and their culture.
    You stated “They told me that anytime at all I am welcome to come to the Reservation to visit. An invitation that is rarely given out to white people who they aren’t familiar with.” That is likely because of Torrey and her family and more importantly you accept and respect their culture. If they were to adhere to our DIVERSITY stupidity their culture would disappear. Everyone would be telling them they need to change this and change that. They do welcome all who respect them and their culture


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

